News Release: 2021 RTA Board officers elected

South Tucson Mayor Bob Teso will serve as the 2021 Chair of the Regional Transportation Authority Board.

South Tucson Mayor Bob Teso
South Tucson Mayor Bob Teso

Teso and the other officers were elected at the May 27, 2021, RTA Board meeting. Other officers elected include Pascua Yaqui Chairman Peter Yucupicio, Vice Chair, and Marana Mayor Ed Honea, 2nd Vice Chair/Treasurer.

Other RTA Board members include Tohono O’odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris Jr., Pima County Supervisor Rex Scott, Tucson Mayor Regina Romera, Oro Valley Mayor Joe Winfield, Sahuarita Mayor Tom Murphy and Arizona State Transportation Board Member Ted Maxwell, the Pima County representative on the state board.

The Regional Transportation Authority, which is managed by Pima Association of Governments, was established by the Arizona Legislature in 2004. A $2.1 billion, 20-year regional transportation plan was approved by Pima County voters in May 2006.

The multimodal RTA plan is funded by a countywide, half-cent sales tax and includes roadway, safety, transit, environmental and economic vitality improvements. The RTA has completed nearly 900 projects to date and is marking its 15th anniversary of plan implementation.

The Regional Transportation Authority is the fiscal manager of the $2.1 billion plan approved by Pima County voters on May 16, 2006.